Stock exhaust manifold vs headers

Status
Not open for further replies.

sonnycheeba3578

Not-quite-so-new-guy
Sep 21, 2014
Just a question. I'm thinking of putting headers on my elco. I have a 305 with the 4 speed manual transmission. I've had 2 different guys tell me 2 different things in reference to this. My main mechanic says I should go with headers. My secondary mechanic says keep it stock and run pipes from the manifold back due to not having to mess with header gaskets. I have a set of flowmaster super 44s that will go on. I also want to put a small cam...maybe an rv cam or something. I'm not trying to get any slips...just want it to sound good. Suggestions are definitely welcome

williamattop

Master Mechanic
Apr 9, 2014
Appleton WI
I say keep the manifolds if your just looking for sound. You could always do the cam and headers afterwards if it wasnt enough of a change for you.
Straight pipes and super 40's is what I run on my stock 305. Sounds great to me (and as Ive been told) and dont have to mess with header bolts, burnt sparkplug boots, mini starters, etc,,,
A cam and headers wouldnt be a bad idea if you plan on building the motor, but as far as just sound, I would spend the small money first on the exhaust.

sonnycheeba3578

Not-quite-so-new-guy
Sep 21, 2014
I say keep the manifolds if your just looking for sound. You could always do the cam and headers afterwards if it wasnt enough of a change for you.
Straight pipes and super 40's is what I run on my stock 305. Sounds great to me (and as Ive been told) and dont have to mess with header bolts, burnt sparkplug boots, mini starters, etc,,,
A cam and headers wouldnt be a bad idea if you plan on building the motor, but as far as just sound, I would spend the small money first on the exhaust.
Thanks for the insight. The more I think about it...the more I think I'll keep the manifold

jlcustomz

G-Body Guru
Nov 22, 2011