tachometer problem,,,,,,,,,,,,

Status
Not open for further replies.

olskool

Apprentice
Sep 26, 2021
i have a question maybe somebody can help me with. i have a 1986 monte carlo ss, it has a built 283 engine. the tach is a good bit off. it is showing about twice as high as it is really revving. it is hooked up to the distributor correctly, i think. any help will be appreciated, i have been a professional transmission rebuilder for 45 years. retired now. i have answered several questions on this forum for people although i a new here. if i can help with any transmission problem let me know. i have a vast knowledge with all, matters not the make. maybe i can be of assistance to you also.

thanks mike,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,

Reactions: 1 users

565bbchevy

Geezer
Aug 8, 2011
Michigan
Which distributor? You should be running a non CCC HEI in that.
I am curious what a built small CI engine like that makes for power?

Reactions: 1 user

olskool

Apprentice
Sep 26, 2021
it is a factory tach, i did not know about a tach filter. what exactly does that do? calibrates the tach? i am running a factory HEI distributor. if it needs the filter and doesn't have it then that is most likely my problem!

olskool

Apprentice
Sep 26, 2021
no i haven't looked at it again. but if it supposed to have a tach filter and doesn't then i a sure that is the problem. it appears that somebody did a frame off restoration on this car and nay have not put it back right. i have already had to fix and hook up a few undone things,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,

69hurstolds

Geezer
Supporting Member
Jan 2, 2006
The tach filter, which is essentially a capacitor, only takes out electrical noises and smooths out the tach pulses. I don't think it will make your reading high all the time. But I'm not a wire biter, so electricians may know.