Urgent Questions About My 3.8

Status
Not open for further replies.

averagewhiteboy

Master Mechanic
Jun 7, 2006
Pittsburgh, PA
Hey guys.

Well, today me and my dad were talking about some gameplans for my GP. We basically decided to build the car up to be daily driven for now, then do the engine/transmission/rear swap later on. Afterall, some 3.73's would make my gas mileage go from 8 mpg to 2 mpg. haha! Regardless, we're gonna build the 3.8 / 3 speed up a little and get it ready for inspection. So I've got a couple questions here.

1. Quadrajet. For now, I'e got the stock 2 bbl Dual-Jet. It's pretty clean and all that, but would I benefit alot from the extra 2 bbl set-up? I'm new to carbs, so could I use a carb from a 305 for my 3.8? I have no idea how that works. But I can get a stock Monte SS 4 bbl carb pretty cheap. Or even a new one probably isn't too much. How'd that help me performance / gas mileage wise? Easy to install / tune?

2. Exhaust. I need a new one. lol. It had the stock 1 muffler set up. Well, I have no muffler on it right now. The exhaust ends under the back seat. It's got a clogged cat, etc. Bascially, I am getting a low-restriction cat, plus a new cat-back from Summit. I've seen a couple companies that make cat backs for the 3.8. I was really liking the Hooker one. Anyone use this? It's made for a Grand National. Or, does even Summit make one for this car so I could save more money?

3. Headers. Since I'm getting a cat back and a new cat, should I just get new headers to really optimize the exhaust? If so, who makes them for 3.8's? What kind of ball park price wise?