Vin Y Olds 307- HELP setting timing- Need help ASAP

Status
Not open for further replies.

lg1200

Master Mechanic
Mar 1, 2011
I've successfully bypassed the ECM by inserting paper clip into AB pins of the ALDL. Now I'm trying to find the vacuum line that runs to the distributor and I CAN'T locate this thing to save my life...Anyone out there can post a picture or give me some help locating the distro vac. line so I can proceed with setting the timing. This is my first time doing this so please pardon my newbie questions..Thanks in advance to anyone who responds..

307 Regal

Royal Smart Person
Oct 21, 2009
Northern Indiana
I don't remember my old distributor even having a vacuum line. I think it ran completely off the computer. I still have it in my attic. I'll take a look. If you're getting everything off the ECM then it's probably a good idea to get a vacuum advance distributor.

Randy_W

G-Body Guru
Oct 16, 2005
Eastern Shore
You can add a vacuum advance to yours.

307 Regal

Royal Smart Person
Oct 21, 2009
Northern Indiana
alright well I can't find it but I'm nearly positive it had no vacuum line. If your car is running fine on the ECM at the moment then it might be a good idea to leave it as-is for a while. If you decide for sure to go that route then keep in mind you could need a vacuum advance carburetor as well. The completely vacuum operated setup worked out pretty good for me but keep in mind you're still putting money into a vin "Y" 307. The money you might spend on the 307 could instead be money saved for an engine swap. Your call.

lg1200

Master Mechanic
Mar 1, 2011
Re: Vin Y Olds 307- HELP setting timing- Need help

307 Regal said: