wanted turbos

Status
Not open for further replies.

james_cambron

Not-quite-so-new-guy
Feb 11, 2007
Nebraska
does anybody know where I can get some good turbos off of a GN or regal. And maybe an intercooler. I will build all the tubing and such, but I cant find any good turbos I can use. I plan to add twin turbos to my 383 in my Malibu

ryanwitski

Master Mechanic
Nov 5, 2006
OH
I'm not an expert but i belive the GN turbo will be a little small. Most F body guys running 350-383ci use garrett T3 turbos. You could get them from ebay but with a turbo in my opinion eithier from a shop or good source. Most ebay or auction turbos look good but if you can not touch them and feel how wuch slack or play there is you don't know whatyou are getting. Then again you could getsome cheap and get then rebuilt (don't know how much that costs).

james_cambron

Not-quite-so-new-guy
Feb 11, 2007
Nebraska
thanks

ryanwitski said:
I'm not an expert but i belive the GN turbo will be a little small. Most F body guys running 350-383ci use garrett T3 turbos. You could get them from ebay but with a turbo in my opinion eithier from a shop or good source. Most ebay or auction turbos look good but if you can not touch them and feel how wuch slack or play there is you don't know whatyou are getting. Then again you could getsome cheap and get then rebuilt (don't know how much that costs).

see I thought about that, but I didnt know if it would matter since I was going to use two of them. This is why I have you guys for answers. If you dont think two smaller gn turbos will work then I will reconsider my thinking and maybe look for some t3 turbos. Any ideas of what all I will nee to do this. I am keeping it carb'ed so I need to know what all I need. blow offs, etc... also should I keep it hot air or should I use an intercooler. Keep in mind I will not be racing the car. Mostly just show with a little go. lol

Cutlassjim

Apprentice
Aug 7, 2006