MALIBU Well, it's official, my coupe hates me.

Status
Not open for further replies.

Ribbedroof

Comic Book Super Hero
Supporting Member
Jan 4, 2009
Wellston, OK
So, this flippin' car has fought me almost every step of the way. Some might recall a while back that I could NOT get a mechanical fuel pump to suck fuel without having to prime the carb every time. All stock fuel system. Blew out the lines, tried a second new pump, finally relented and put a low pressure electric pump on it.

Second issue has been that the needle/seat doesn't always close, resulting in flooding. Carb was a fresh rebuild. Put a kit in it. Better for a while, then the same. Put ANOTHER kit in it, has been OK so far. UNTIL today. Sent car to second alignment shop. Boss raved about how nice the car is after he drove it over and picked it up. Whatevs....Decided I'd take it to lunch and fill the tank. First bad omen, nozzle somehow flopped out while pumping..WTF? I've been putting fuel in these cars for 30 years, never an issue. Left fuel stop, headed out to get a sandwich. Got on the expressway, decided since I haven't really driven it, I'd open it up a little. Good pull, no crazy speed attained, but felt good. Let off to make the turnoff, engine stumbles. Coast into the parking lot, can't keep it running. Pop the hood, sure enough, fuel pouring all over the intake. Great, no tools with me. Called the shop, had them send a porter with a few tools. While I'm waiting, some woman in the drive through line says "Nice car!" I say thanks, but I'm thinking, "Yeah, I USED to thinks so too". Porter shows up, a few love taps with the ball peen deadblow, key on, no fuel cascade. Fired it up, told the porter to follow me back to the shop. OLD woman in a Crown Vic at the Pizza Hut next door yells out her window "It's the carburetor". Thank you, Katherine Obvious.