What gear ratios are you running?

Status
Not open for further replies.

johnnunez29

Greasemonkey
May 9, 2022
This is my first build and have gotten a great amount of advice on here. My 86 MCSS frame is away getting blasted and powder coated and i would like to have he rear end ready to put it all together asap. My engine will be a stroked 6.0 (eventually on boost) and very possibly a 4l80 (this is what my research is telling me is best fit). MY goal is to street and drag occasionally. I was looking at the ford 9" but not sure what gear ratio to go with. any help is much appreciated.

64nailhead

Goat Herder
Dec 1, 2014
Upstate NY
What tire?

64nailhead

Goat Herder
Dec 1, 2014
Upstate NY
gotta get measurements. im going to be running 20" for now. not sure what in the future. but not a huge fan of the big wheels. is that a decision i need to make first?
20 what? Come up with an actual tire size, not rim size.

If it has a stock cam, then you need to figure that in for determining cruise rpm and track max rpm. Or, what is the motor going to end up with even if you aren't going to do it at time of initial install.

And as Built6spdMCSS mentioned, any power adders?

Reactions: 1 user

johnnunez29

Greasemonkey
May 9, 2022
20 what? Come up with an actual tire size, not rim size.

If it has a stock cam, then you need to figure that in for determining cruise rpm and track max rpm. Or, what is the motor going to end up with even if you aren't going to do it at time of initial install.

And as Built6spdMCSS mentioned, any power adders?
That’s tough, at the beginner stages . Will be on boost hoping for around 1k hp. Need to speak with builder I guess to determine cam. Been a nightmare to get this going

Gwarren79

G-Body Guru
Oct 29, 2018
Safford, AZ

For overall tire size go -

Screenshot (86).png

Last edited:
Reactions: 1 users

64nailhead

Goat Herder
Dec 1, 2014
Upstate NY