What's it worth? What would you pay?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Clarmo

Master Mechanic
Jan 29, 2016
Ottawa, Canada
What's it worth? What would you pay?

For those hard to find, NOS or good used parts.
I've been hunting for some key pieces for my 1981 Malibu Taxi. When I find something, I always wonder if it's a fair deal.
I just recently purchased an NOS Grill ($269.00) and NOS Headlight Bezels ($109.00ea) Front Bumper Guards, used but rechromed (139.00) and a used but rechromed Complete Rear Bumper with bumper guards and impact strips ($499.99) That one hurt a little but it looks amazing like a NOS piece.

Seems fair to me. ???
What do you guys think?
What have you paid for NOS stuff on your rides? (Give us some examples)

565bbchevy

Geezer
Aug 8, 2011
Michigan
I have bought many aftermarket parts for my Monte and started buying some for the Regal but have never had to get NOS since the aftermarket support in there for my cars but the Malibu has less availability and sometimes paying the price for a part whether NOS or aftermarket is the only way to go especially when it is the one thing that will be the finishing touch.
Being that everyone behind you will see a gleaming rechromed rear bumper I think the price is justifiable.

Last edited:

ed1948

Royal Smart Person
Aug 6, 2016
Quinte West, Ontario
You need to look at the big picture - if it gives more enjoyment in car ownership - then good. If you hope it increases the car resale value by that amount - maybe, maybe not. You say you found good pieces and you could justify their purchase - you win.

• Agree
Reactions: 1 users

Texas82GP

Just-a-worm
Apr 3, 2015
Spring, Texas
In my opinion NOS stuff is the best stuff. It's the real thing. So much reproduction stuff doesn't fit or is lousy quality. I don't really think those prices you paid are awful. You have to ask yourself how many of them are left, how bad do you want it and can you afford it? The bumper was expensive but look at what you got.