Whats the best place for front speakers ?

Status
Not open for further replies.

axisg

Comic Book Super Hero
Jul 17, 2007
YYZ
I am overhauling the system in my car as it's too much Bass. I am by no means a stereo expert but I am looking for a cleaner ( and not so loud ) sounding system. Mostly I am looking for the best way to bring some sound up front.

Lets start from the beginning. PO said he spent about $9k having someone install this abortion. From inside the car everything is hidden ( which I really like ). 4x10" Lanzar + 4x 8" Kicker Speakers all mounted to the rear seatback ( see the hack job pics enclosed ). In the front there are 3.5's Infinity ( old ) in the dash and some tweets in the A/C vents. The rear seatback was cut out and replaced with MDF. Then sprayfoam was put in all around to seal off the whole trunk making it one sealed box. This thing would thump enough to make your ears bleed and rattle the licence plate ( not really my style )
IMG_0739.jpg

IMG_0740.jpg

08-06-09_2007.jpg

So late last fall I ditched all the MDF. I cut out a complete seatback from a Grand Prix Thank You to 81GrandPrix383 ( as a bonus they came with the add'l crossbracing ). I reinstalled the donor seatback using panelbond and bolts to reinstall overtop what was left of the original hacked up seatback.

I then traded off the 4x8" Kickers and parked 2 of the 10's and spent the money on some new 6x9's.

So here's the current setup

3.5" Infinity speakers in the dash ( old but still working )
3/4" Unknown Tweeter Speakers in the A/C vents
On their own Amplifier

6x9 Infinity 693.9i on the " new" parcel shelf
On it's own Amplifier
pic1.jpg

2x10" Lanzar in a sealed box in the trunk

The system now sounds much cleaner but I am still missing something up front until I really crank the stereo up.

So I have been looking at adding either the Lower Door panel speakers AKA ConcertII ( they seem very expensive ), and the Qlogic kickpanel speaker enclosures .