why is it called a G body?

Status
Not open for further replies.

307 Regal

Royal Smart Person
Oct 21, 2009
Northern Indiana
Well don't quote me on this, I'm no expert, but here's what I've gathered:

-The initial "G" is like a classification of priority for GM. I think that has to do with how a certain body style was selling. Like back in the early '60s, I think GM's A-body was their full-size vehicle. In the mid '60s the mid-size cars like the chevelles and cutlasses became A-bodies and the full-sizes like the impala became B-bodies.

-I'm pretty sure that all Cutlasses, Monte Carlos, Regals (G.N.s), Grand Prixs, El Caminos, and Caballeros from 78 to 88 are considered G-Bodies. Now as far as cars based off the Malibu go, I've never heard them called anything, but just the fact that they're around the forums probably means they're G-bodies.. lol

FE3X CLONE

Comic Book Super Hero
Dec 2, 2009
Ohio
Technically, the '78-'81 cars were A-bodies and the '82-'88 were G-bodies.

For whatever reason GM gave the A-body designation to the new FWD piece of crap cars and the original "A-body" cars were redesignated as G-bodies.

Pbngem

Greasemonkey
Oct 17, 2010
My understanding is GM made some changes in 1982 & designated the change as "G". Some of the changes were mounting locations to the frame to accomadate different engine, trans & exaust systems. They also changed to metric wheel studs that year. MonteCarlo, Elcamino. Malibu & Malibu Wagon, Cutlass & Cutlass Wagon, Regal & Gran Prix all fall into the "G" Body group. My 1985 Elcamino has extra mounting pad & holes in the frame for the trans cross member that my 1980 malibu doesn't.

FE3X CLONE

Comic Book Super Hero
Dec 2, 2009
Ohio
sturtz60 said:
so my 81 cutlass is a A body? but all the parts are the same as the G body