Winter driving tips

Status
Not open for further replies.

jtr1800

Not-quite-so-new-guy
Jan 15, 2018
rochester New york
So this is my first year driving my 85 cutlass since I bought her. I live in Rochester NY and I get alot of snow and sadly I have to drive her through the winter. I'm in need of some advice to keep her in one piece, I'm used to driving a Subaru. Thanks in advance for any tips

Clone TIE Pilot

Comic Book Super Hero
Aug 14, 2011
Galaxy far far away
The best advice is simply not to drive it at all in the winter as the road salt will quickly eat the car away, or move south where it is too warm for road salt. To starve the salf monster off as best as possible I suggest washing the undercarriage out with mild acid, then rinse with water every spring. Use Eastwood internal frame coating in your frame. Maybe use Eastwood rust encapsulating undercoating. Spary the undercarriage with oil, and install mudflaps.

• Agree
Reactions: 1 users

a.graham52

Greasemonkey
Oct 19, 2017
mainer here. i have an 85 cutlass im using this winter. SNOW TIRES SNOW TIRES SNOW TIRES!!. i also put 150lbs of sand in the back of the car. bought 3 50lb bags from home depot and totes

• Agree
Reactions: 2 users

Blake442

Geezer
Apr 24, 2007
Minneapolis
Snow tires on the rear and two 60 lb. bags of sand in the trunk are all I ever did to prepare.
Drive carefully and make sure that you keep the cowl area where the wipers park as clear of snow/ice as you can.
Other than that, just try and keep it clean and between the ditches!

jtr1800

Not-quite-so-new-guy
Jan 15, 2018
rochester New york
I have a pair of studded snows for the back and steelies to put them on and if it wasn't so dire I wouldn't drive it at all. I have undercoated most of it and i have a cover I put over the glass and cowl when it sits.
Dose a trunk full of tools count for weight?:mrgreen:

Jeff L

G-Body Guru
Nov 20, 2016
Southern AZ