lithium bats

Status
Not open for further replies.

jlat

Master Mechanic
Jan 25, 2013
hello people: I've been asking around about them. The question is is if any of youz are using them in any of your toys? Any stories good or bad would be nice.
IBBY

john87442

Master Mechanic
Supporting Member
Mar 9, 2021
Geneva ohio
Not sure what size or quality you’re asking about but as a firefighter I can tell you I would not trust any of the lithium batteries that are not tested or qualified by ul standards. Several fires started by these batteries because they are unstable. Also I would never keep or recharge them anywhere in my house or connected garage. Just my two cents.

Reactions: 1 users

Built6spdMCSS

Geezer
Jun 15, 2012
Florida Beach
I've seen the early iPhone 3 explode but haven't really seen too many problems out of stuff currently. I run a lot of electric hand tools that use Li Ion and have had them for several years without issue.

Reactions: 1 user

john87442

Master Mechanic
Supporting Member
Mar 9, 2021
Geneva ohio
True if the items were tested by underwriting laboratory such as major brands there usually safer however a lot of the hover boards or electric bikes are not and there have been several instances of self initiated fires even when not on a charging station.

Hurricane77

Master Mechanic
Nov 11, 2020
Ottawa, Canada
I'm going to presume you're referring to Lithium batteries for outdoor power equipment and power sports type equipment? Not the Li-Ion batteries that are in every piece of electronics and power tool since the late 90s?

All my stuff is still lead acid. Bike is AGM, not sure what the factory battery in my tractor is. But it would be either conventional lead acid or AGM.