Where can i get some weatherstripping?

Status
Not open for further replies.

LT1B-Body

Greasemonkey
Feb 25, 2021
Maricopa Arizona
Hi! I need all of the weatherstripping and related seals for my 78 Malibu coupe.
And is there anything I need before I get the back window and windshield installed? Since the car was stripped for primer and is missing all seals and trim.
TIA

JimmyCamino

Greasemonkey
Dec 15, 2020
Alexandria, VA
I'd check soffseal and steele for weatherstripping products. Then favorite aftermarket suppliers for best pricing. I'm no expert on installing glass, but in addition to expecting whoever is doing the installation to know what they need, I remember seeing discussions on this site about what blocks, spacers, etc are needed.

Reactions: 1 user

69hurstolds

Geezer
Supporting Member
Jan 2, 2006
Depends what's in the kit. Shoot Mike an email and ask him what the differences are.

Soffseal is fairly decent for aftermarket, but can be a bit unforgiving for door seal ends and allowing the door to shut easily. At least on Oldsmobiles. And I heard montes are about the same.

If you want to spend a bit of $$, Steele has some really awesome reproduction seals for the door and roof rails and the trunk seal. At least from the reviews of others I've seen. They're pricey, but they sure look close enough to GM stuff that I've seen. I cannot verify fit, etc., as I have never personally owned any. I use GM stuff where all possible. I gave SoffSeal a chance on my 84 H/O but I couldn't close the doors and I got tired of "fixing" the seal ends. So I put GM seals on the doors. Problem solved. This was about 20 years ago, so if SoffSeal got better at it since then, then fine. I've read where they still seem to be about the same. Correct me if I'm wrong.