HELP with the wipers from hell

Status
Not open for further replies.

BPTTONE420012

G-Body Guru
Jan 20, 2014
FAIRFIELD COUNTY, CT
so my monte has no wipers, turn the nob to the on position and the wiper motor clicks, but doesnt run... i tried swapping it for a good motor out of my bu, but does the same thing, just makes an audible "click"... any help would be great, i need this car, its my DD, AND ITS STARTING TO RAIN

Alerch

Master Mechanic
Jul 15, 2013
Goose creek SC
Im no expert on electrical systems but I would check all your grounds. Rule those out first. Then check the wiring harness for bad connectors and broken wires.

spudd

Apprentice
Sep 10, 2012
I just took my 84 hurst out of storage and it is doing the same thing...they don't work but I can hear a click in the wiper motor.......
I am going to start with grounds like mentioned

BPTTONE420012

G-Body Guru
Jan 20, 2014
FAIRFIELD COUNTY, CT
figured it out... the metal housing of the motor has to make contact with the bracket it bolts too... not sure if the housing and bracket are used as a ground, but it works...

axisg

Comic Book Super Hero
Jul 17, 2007
YYZ
BPTTONE420012 said:
figured it out... the metal housing of the motor has to make contact with the bracket it bolts too... not sure if the housing and bracket are used as a ground, but it works...

you will see one of the bolt holes/ grommets has a brass strip. That supplies ground from the cowl to the bolt, thru the brass strip to the circuit board. Once those get corroded they will cause problems. It's easiest to get to the bottom bolt by removing the inner wheelwell.

pontiacgp

blank
Mar 31, 2006
Kitchener, Ontario
axisg said:
BPTTONE420012 said:

you will see one of the bolt holes/ grommets has a brass strip. That supplies ground from the cowl to the bolt, thru the brass strip to the circuit board. Once those get corroded they will cause problems. It's easiest to get to the bottom bolt by removing the inner wheelwell.