78 Cutlass front interchange

Status
Not open for further replies.

Rob1369

Not-quite-so-new-guy
Mar 16, 2015
Mammoth Spring AR
Put this in the general forum also.

Just got a 78 Cutlass and want to put the nose from a 85 or 86 or a Hurst Olds. Will it bolt up or is it a bunch of fab work? Is it fairly straight forward or not worth the hassle? Any info will be appreciated. Thanks

ADentice

Apprentice
Jul 25, 2014
Buffalo, NY
I dont think it bolts up. i wanted to do the same thing

Rob1369

Not-quite-so-new-guy
Mar 16, 2015
Mammoth Spring AR
I dont think it bolts up. i wanted to do the same thing

Thank you for the info.
Im new to the G-Body scene. Been a fox body fan since 90 and this is all new to me. Not a whole lot i cant tell you about Mustangs but Cutlasses are all new to me.

Rktpwrd

Builder of Cool Shjt
Supporting Member
Feb 2, 2015
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Put this in the general forum also.

Just got a 78 Cutlass and want to put the nose from a 85 or 86 or a Hurst Olds. Will it bolt up or is it a bunch of fab work? Is it fairly straight forward or not worth the hassle? Any info will be appreciated. Thanks

Other members may want to correct me if I'm wrong, but the Cutlasses of the G body years are divided into 2 separate body styles. 78-80 and 81-88. The entire front sheetmetal is totally different, including the bumpers. Not to say that it couldn't be done, but you may have to swap the front fenders over as well to get it all to work. I have an '80 Cutlass. IMO, you're better off staying within your 78-80 years. There's still several front ends to choose from in these years.

Rob1369

Not-quite-so-new-guy
Mar 16, 2015
Mammoth Spring AR