OLDS Anyone see this article in HotRod magazine about an Olds 455?

old80cs

G-Body Guru
Jun 27, 2013
Massachusetts
I like this segment of the magazine because they feature more down to earth builds on engines we all might be able to afford at some point in our lives. This is what I'd try to build if I ever pull the 455 out from under my work bench!

IMG_3887.jpegIMG_3888.jpegIMG_3889.jpegIMG_3890.jpegIMG_3891.jpeg

Last edited:
I think, I saw that one. That is with latest version Edelbrock heads, correct? Impressive for sure and shows a good gain over last generation heads. A nice build.

Reactions: Rktpwrd
I think, I saw that one. That is with latest version Edelbrock heads, correct? Impressive for sure and shows a good gain over last generation heads. A nice build.
It mentions Edelbrock Performer RPM heads but I'm no expert so I can't confirm if they are the latest.

6102 is the new part number, 6015 the old. Can also see the cut out for the yuge mechanical fuel pump.
Yeah, I thought there was a cut out. I need to start my new job so I can afford the new SBO heads when they arrive.

Reactions: old80cs
Yeah, I thought there was a cut out. I need to start my new job so I can afford the new SBO heads when they arrive.
Have the best of both worlds. Get an early fwd toronado and a 455 and build it. Could be a boat towing replacement for the awd challenger when the miles and age catch up to all those electronics.

Reactions: olds307 and 403
Anyone got a link to an online version of the article?

Have the best of both worlds. Get an early fwd toronado and a 455 and build it. Could be a boat towing replacement for the awd challenger when the miles and age catch up to all those electronics.