Dial indicating a bellhousing

Mighty

Greasemonkey
Oct 22, 2022
E09165BF-1C39-4A1F-AD57-ADDB93FD786F.jpeg
D0D31A45-7642-4764-B268-7AB1D8C9C4BA.jpeg

Just wanted to get some opinions from people that have done this before…..I’m in the process of putting a Richmond super t10 plus in place of the factory saginaw in my wagon and this is my first attempt at something like this. When we slid the transmission in to get the driveshaft measurement it was a little too snug in my brothers opinion so he said we better check it. My new flywheel checked out, the new clutch is removed and one of the flywheel bolts is out and the dial indicator is stuck on. We just picked the 6 o’clock position to be where we zeroed the dial. Made a couple revolutions and ended back at zero. As you can see by my drawings and a red mark on the bellhousing it’s about -.015. Nothing more than +/- .005 is acceptable from what I understand. So we zeroed the dial in that location and all the measurements basically flipped. Divided that by 2 so am I correct in saying that I should need a .0075 offset dowel pin? And the bellhousing needs to be raised up that much since the low spot is at the top of the hole? Also, the measurements at the 3 and 9 o clock positions are within +/- .005 from each other but will they fall within spec with the dowel pins that I assume I need shifting it the .007 in the up direction? The bellhousing is torqued to 45 ft lbs and I tried to make sure the dust cover at the bottom wasn’t causing it to be crooked at all. I cleaned the bellhousing and used to emery cloth on all the rough spots. It’s the factory 45 year old bellhousing though so I’d imagine it’s out of round. I just wanted to make sure I’m not way off on my attempt before I purchase new dowel pins. Thanks for any input

Bonnewagon

Lost in the Labyrinth
Supporting Member
Sep 18, 2009
Queens, NY
I have never done this, but I tend to stick to the sloppy Saginaws. :mrgreen: This video is pretty informative.