First Time Carb Rebuilder - Qudrajet - Any suggestions

Status
Not open for further replies.

dougfather

Master Mechanic
Jul 11, 2006
Altoona PA
OK, I am at the point where I need to bolt up a carb to my engine. The rotating assembly (crank/rods/pistons) is known to work, but I replaced cam, lifters, and heads. So I need to break in the flat tappet cam and lifters. As my sig suggests, I have a 350 SBC with Edelbrock Perfomer intake and matching cam.

I am considering a quadrajet (non-CCC). I have 2 of them now and may receive more from a buddy of mine who is doing some housecleaning. They need rebuilt, period. This is my first time at rebuilding a carb. Any suggestions? Should I even try it, since I hear how the q-jet is tricky? Here are some books I was considering:

Rochester Carburetors (by Doug Roe)
http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/0895863014/?tag=gbody-20

How to Rebuild and Modify Rochester Quadrajet Carburetors (by Cliff Ruggles)
http://www.amazon.com/dp/1932494189/?tag=gbody-20

axisg

Comic Book Super Hero
Jul 17, 2007
YYZ
my q-jet was not bad to rebuild at all. Mostly they get varnished up from sitting around or some crap gets by the filter and blocks a venturi.

I much prefer the qjet that I used to run over the holley I have now. The holley is great at Full Throttle but the warm startups and idle quality leave a little to be desired.

So yes, read the books or just follow the instructions to a Tee and clean everything really well.

megaladon6

Comic Book Super Hero
May 29, 2006
Danbury, CT