headers over exhaust help

Status
Not open for further replies.

malibu-man400

Not-quite-so-new-guy
Apr 24, 2011
Hey guys,

I was just wondering, what is the difference or what make headers better than the regular stock exhaust. Is there a preference to which a car should have?,if so, why? Does headers make the car sound a little bit meaner or is there ways to mod that?

Phoenyx

Royal Smart Person
Jun 27, 2007
Alberta, Canada
Headers a better designed at flowing than stock manifolds. So they make the engine run more efficient, which will make more power and give better fuel economy. I think on a stock build the difference would be very small, if anything.

As for what a car should have, it depends on a lot. Lot's of people have continuous problems with gasket leaks. If they are long tubes, lowering can cause problems. I would say (and I'm not an expert lol) unless you have 350-400+ HP then manifolds would be just fine.

And for the sound. I have heard a few cars that had headers put on, and kept the same exhaust system. And yes, it does sound different (better) than the manifolds.

rustyroger

G-Body Guru
Mar 14, 2007
Margate, UK>
Manifolds are much cheaper to make than headers, that's why most cars leave the factory that way, good headers are often a cheap and easy way to improve a cars performance - both power & economy. Certainly that was the case when I first took an interest in engine tuning on the little 4 pot engines in British cars of the '70s. Any tuning guide recommended upgrading the exhaust as a first step, some engines responded better than others, minis would typically see an increase of 10 bhp from a manifold change -from 38 to 48 bhp - enough to power a th400!
Most people who fit headers like their car to be a bit louder, since the rest of the exhaust system often needs to be modified or replaced it's a good time to fit one that gives the desired sound.