Help identifying ECM - '85 GN

Status
Not open for further replies.

Bert85HotAir

Not-quite-so-new-guy
Mar 21, 2022
I'm a noob and just picked up an '85 GN. Previous owner didn't give me much info and I'm trying to figure out if the ECM in the car has been upgrades or swapped with an 86/87.

There is an upgraded MAF installed which makes me think maybe it was. I'm having no luck with the old google machine.

Can anyone tell me if this is a stock 85 ecm or if it has been swapped?

Thank you thank you.

-Bert.
ECM.jpg
ECM 2.jpg

ck80

Supporting Member
Feb 18, 2014
I'm a noob and just picked up an '85 GN. Previous owner didn't give me much info and I'm trying to figure out if the ECM in the car has been upgrades or swapped with an 86/87.

There is an upgraded MAF installed which makes me think maybe it was. I'm having no luck with the old google machine.

Can anyone tell me if this is a stock 85 ecm or if it has been swapped?

Thank you thank you.

-Bert. View attachment 194800 View attachment 194802
Service number 1227148 ecm checks as 86-87 version.

The chip in it could be anything, that you'd need to check separately.

Google "1227148 ecm" and you can get more info

69hurstolds

Geezer
Supporting Member
Jan 2, 2006
Weird. 1985 doesn't use this controller as a service replacement at all. From what I understand, there's a few things "different" between 85 controllers and 86-up.

Not fluent in Buicks at all, but the info I've found for it is 86-87 ATH, 86 TK, 86 CMW

The PROM is the only thing that matters, in reality. And not sure what that would be. "Calpak" should be stamped 16036504, but carries the part number in the catalog of 16036503 for a turbo VIN 9.

Some turbo head should be able to chime in here.

57 Handyman

Master Mechanic
Feb 6, 2017