LT1 and 4L60E Swap in 85 Monte C SS

Status
Not open for further replies.

Remyline SS

Not-quite-so-new-guy
Oct 15, 2009
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
This might be already answered but I am new so please be patient lol. Does the LT1 and 4L60e swap for a Elko imply on a 85 SS Monte C. I know a few things bout the Elko but I am new to the MCSS. What is needed to make this happen?? Thanks in advance JD.

Blake442 said:
If you're at all experienced with an El Camino, everything on the Monte should look pretty familiar, they're essentially the same underneath.

Yeah I was thinking the same thing. I am not a experienced mech.( i can get around but not to heavy lol), but my neighbor is, just not in this field. But with the help of you guys and a couple other boards i am part of, I believe we can do it. I just can't bring myself to pay someone 2500.00 "STARTING" price to stuff this thing in. I can't see that much work but like I said I am not exp. I have and can furnish most of the parts so what the big price for. JMO and you know what they say bout opinions lol.

Remyline SS said:
I just can't bring myself to pay someone 2500.00 "STARTING" price to stuff this thing in. I can't see that much work ....

I'm moving to OKC and start an engine swap service!!!

Remyline SS said:
This might be already answered but I am new so please be patient lol. Does the LT1 and 4L60e swap for a Elko imply on a 85 SS Monte C. I know a few things bout the Elko but I am new to the MCSS. What is needed to make this happen?? Thanks in advance JD.
What was the LT1 & Trans out of origionally?

86Cutlass383SR said:
Remyline SS said:
I'm moving to OKC and start an engine swap service!!!

Doug thats exactly what I told my neighbor. like I said I'm not a expert mech., but I'm no dummy and can learn lol so 2500.00 to me sounds like learn to do it yourself. Plus I love cars anyways.

Chevyman85 said:
What was the LT1 & Trans out of origionally?

Out of a 97 Camaro I believe Chevyman.