motor mount block brackets

Status
Not open for further replies.

1981kc

Not-quite-so-new-guy
Apr 19, 2011
I am new at this so please understand if my questions seem dumb. I am trying to install a 350 in my 1981 Malibu, replacing the old V6, and I am having trouble finding new block brackets to bolt to the clam shell motor mounts. I ordered the clam shell mounts from Summit Racing and they mount onto the frame just fine. The bracket that mounts to the block is what I can not seem to find new. The ones I purchased were to narrow to go over the clam shell and I can not seem to find any other brackets that will work. The clam shells are about 4 inches wide and the brackets that I purchased were only about 2 1/2 inches wide. Do I have the wrong clam shell mounts? If not does anyone know what the correct block brackets are and where I can buy them? Any help on this would be greatly appreciated. Part numbers would be great. Thank You

Blake442

Geezer
Apr 24, 2007
Minneapolis
There isn't anything available new.
You just need the brackets off of any SBC powered G-body.
Keep an eye on the For Sale section or post in the Wanted section.
I bought a set off a member of this forum when I needed some for my most recent swap.
I posted in the Wanted section, and within 3 days, 5 people replied that had some to sell...

RITTER

Royal Smart Person
May 26, 2007
Hillsdale, MI
I believe you can still get the "bucket" mount from GM, like $40 each :puke:

When I was looking for them, I placed a wanted ad on craigslist and somebody called and gave me a set of them. You have the correct frame mount. The summit block side motor mounts are made for the solid style frame mounts, that is why they are so narrow. Searching and waiting :mrgreen:

What motor was in the Malibu :?:

1981kc

Not-quite-so-new-guy
Apr 19, 2011