My New 1985 Regal with 14,000 actual and a question

Status
Not open for further replies.

DeadGuy

Not-quite-so-new-guy
May 8, 2012
Hi guys, thanks for having on your forum. I'll start off by saying I'm in my 50;s and a 'Car Guy' I've been building and restoring for many years and I've had some very cool and strange cars. I love weird things.

2 days ago I ended up at an estate sale and found something that only comes along about every 10 years or so.
A 1985 Buick Regal Limited from a 92 year old lady's estate after she passed. This car has a documented 14,600 miles on it. It's really a thing of beauty. I have the title with her name on it from Seager Buick here in Ohio where she bought it new.

The window sticker is in the glove box and she paid around 13,800 for it. It's been rust proofed and looks almost new.

NOW!!! comes the real question. If you look at the photos in my gallery you can see that before she passed away she rubbed her right door against her small one car garage and did some good dings.

I have a great body guy because I also have a '40 Dodge custom street rod and a 1965 Rambler Marlin. (I told you I like weird things) Anyway, my paint guy said he could hang a new door and blend the paint or fix this door no problems.

BUT, do you want to do that with a car with this few miles? I know how important it is to try to keep things as much as original as possible. If I keep the car I'm sure I'll fix it. I know I can drive this car 10 years with no problems, but if I decide to sell it, will I get more for it with it looking pristine?

I'd love to hear you guy's opinions. I also am pretty sure an '85 cutlass door will also work correct?

Thanks again and if my screen name seems funny just google 'dead body guy'

buds
chuck

PS: photos of this car is in my gallery - I learned how to add a couple.

buick1.JPG

Here's the dinged door

buick4.JPG

LS1GN

G-Body Guru
Aug 7, 2011
Central Florida
Beautiful car! Too bad the lady didn't like turbos.