New Shiny Aluminum Radiator vs. 46 year old Brass

doood

Amateur Mechanic
Sep 24, 2020
I'm ashamed to say that I bought this radiator (when it cost $500) as a drop-in replacement for the v6 radiator that was in my '84 Monte, which I LS swapped in 2021. I didn't spend wisely; I was in a hurry and had more money than sense. I do not wish to throw this vendor under the bus, as he probably sourced the radiator from whatever Chinese supplier they all use from Champion to Jegs... I'm sure 9 out of 10 people that spring for this kind of shiny jewel are perfectly satisfied, but me? I've been chasing a leak for 3 years. I've had the coolant drained twice in the last 6 weeks making a real effort to stuff this leak up. It's getting personal, and I'm pulling out all the stops. Last week I drained, dried and then glued the lower hose on with black RTV, which I then double-clamped after it set, yet it is still weeping out of that area, not the hose barb, but the general area, enough to drop the overflow tank about 1/4 inch a day.

So, I bought a 46-year old brass radiator from some unknown v8 g-body. It's going in the car. I will swap the electric fans over to the brass radiator. The hot side barb is ~1.31" and the cool side barb is ~1.56", unlike the aluminum radiator, so I need to buy new hoses and reducers, etc... It is amazing the things I can accomplish while being frustrated by the simplest things... I swear, the little things are the most frustrating. I'll show before and after. This summer, I'll pressure test the aluminum radiator in the pool and I'll figure out where the pinhole is so that I can have it TIG-ed.

1711244241148.png
20240323_211040.jpg

Last edited:
Reactions: 1 users

Built6spdMCSS

Geezer
Jun 15, 2012
Florida Beach
LT1 Fbody Radiator & Fans, been in since 2010. I use this one on every LS Swap I've done. It's in my build threads.