wireing under the hood for 87 cutlass with 307 to a chevy350

Status
Not open for further replies.

bryguy39

Apprentice
Apr 25, 2007
i need to know what wires i need to use and what wires not to use in my 87 cutlass when i pull the 307 olds out and put my 350 in. does anyone have a picture of this and know what wires are used and what arent?thanks,Bryan

carl_graham2001

Not-quite-so-new-guy
Nov 13, 2008
Well on my 82 I just used the wiring on the driver side of the engine bay.its the alternator,starter,ac,and distributor.but I am no expert I've just read every post on this forum in the past year

Sep 1, 2006
Tampa Bay Area
It depends. Do you plan on using the computer? The A/C? Cruise Control? or do you just want it to start and run? If start and run without a computer is what you need, you will need to either swap to a Chevy engine harness or extend all of the wires for the starter and move them to the passenger's side. Just don't eliminate the fusible links, they are there to prevent electrical fires. The battery will also have to go to the passenger's side if it is not already there, and you will need the battery cable retainer clip for the engine block to keep it from shorting out and starting a fire. The ignition works with one wire (pink one in a white connector) if you have an HEI.