12 Bolt Rear End??

Status
Not open for further replies.

84MadneSS

Not-quite-so-new-guy
Mar 25, 2009
I'm just about to start building a new higher horse power engine for my 84 SS, but with the lack of a strong rear end i don't think i will get to far, i don't have a posi as it is, and everyone i talk to says that i'm going to break 10 bolts like no tomorrow because of the weight of the car and the horse power i plan to run, now i'm wondering if there is such a thing as a 12 bolt that will flat out bolt up to my frame not mods required?? So i can at least build a half decent rear end that i'm not going to break at the track........ :mrgreen: Now mind you i'm only 19 and i'm still learning about all this

87SS383

Apprentice
Jan 15, 2010
Check out http://www.justrearends.com. They provide fully assembled rear ends with brakes that have factory mounting points for 78-88 G-Body's. I got mine from them during the summer and it was a breeze.

patmckinneyracing

Royal Smart Person
Jan 18, 2009
San Antonio, TX
I think he was asking is there a vehicle that you can take a 12 bolt directly out of and put directly into his monte carlo. I'm 19 too and I have been wanting to know the same thing. How much horsepower and torque are you making and what kind of tire are you running? Do you plan on drag racing a lot?

I'm running a 10 bolt out of an 86' monte ss and had it rebuilt. I've been thrashing on that thing and have done plenty of burnouts in my 80 malibu. Our cars (malibu, el camino, and monte carlo) really dont weigh as much as we think they do. Most average 3-3400 pounds which is less than newer cars. IMO the 10 bolts get a bad rep when, if built right, can actually take up a lot of punishment. Its the same as the arguement of which is a better 350 engine, a 2 bolt or 4 bolt? I had the seals replaced and a new ring and pinion because I had chipped a tooth, and haven't had a problem in the past three years.

87SS383

Apprentice
Jan 15, 2010