350 swap

Status
Not open for further replies.

chop_car

n00b
May 13, 2008
i have a 85 monte with a 305 and what to swap with a 350 but will all the smog stuff bolt on to the 350..... and will the computer work on the 350 or should i stick with the 305......... i live in CA and have to pass smog

Sep 1, 2006
Tampa Bay Area
It will work, but you should make it look really stock. Use a block with the same dipstick location as your 305, and paint it black. Also, you may want to recalibrate the secondaries on the 4ME Quadrajet richer to work with the 350. This will not affect emissions or the computer as the CCC system does not work at WOT. As to passing smog, that will largely depend on your combination of parts, and how anal they are at the inspection place. If they start running casting numbers, you will probably be screwed. I dunno, Florida has no inspection program of any kind, so I have no real world experience here.

chop_car

n00b
May 13, 2008
would the 305 intake work on the 350 and will the 305 exhaust manifold work to sorry for all the questions just want to know what im getting in to....

Lue

G-Body Guru
Nov 29, 2007
Los Angeles, california
chop_car said:
i have a 85 monte with a 305 and what to swap with a 350 but will all the smog stuff bolt on to the 350..... and will the computer work on the 350 or should i stick with the 305......... i live in CA and have to pass smog

This is also a dilemma that i phase too. I just said f*k it, and i'm going to go with a buddy of mine that can pass my smog for me :twisted:

Sep 1, 2006
Tampa Bay Area