700 R4 questions

Status
Not open for further replies.

grandprix2+2

Apprentice
Jun 13, 2007
There is a guy at my work with a mustang and he put a 350 chevy with a 700 r4 in it. The car is apparently too far gone for him to want to keep it and he cant seem to get rid of it. He says he's going to crush it next week. The transmission has apparently been rebuilt by him a few years ago with a shift kit and a 2200-2500 stall convertor. We've talked cars before and its only recently that he has decided to smush it, and has offered me the transmission for $400.
I am no expert at transmissions, butI consider myself relatively informed in the 2004r vs 700r4 debate. I agree with the general census here that the 2004r is a better choice. HOWEVER, I'm 21 and for some strange reason I haven't claimed my lotto jackpot yet? :wtf: I also have all the parts to make a 700r4 or 2004r work in my car.

So naturally, I am interested in this transmission, but a couple red flags went up when I was questioning him about his 700r4.
1)First, will a later model (early 90s? computer controlled?) 700r4 work if there is no computer to control it? (don't think I'm refering to the 460LE or whatever it is. it has the tv cable)
2) Will a 700r4 work properly without the tv cable connected? From using the search here and setting my own tv, I'm pretty sure its the most vital part on these trannys. He says that it will work fine you just have no kickdown. :wtf: I refrained from arguing cuz I'm used to getting the "I was building transmissions before you were out of your diapers" speech.
3) Is a do-it-yourself rebuild on these trannys possible for someone of a moderate knowledgebase of cars? I thought 3 speeds were easy, overdrives not so much.