84 cutlass doors?

Status
Not open for further replies.

lovemyolds84

Not-quite-so-new-guy
Feb 6, 2008
my doors are very flimsy, window is loose doesnt roll up all the way, when i close the doors they are very loud sounding, l;ike clanging going around? should i get new doors from another car or is it anyway to tighten these doors up so they are sounding better when closed and etc?

Silent viewer

Royal Smart Person
May 9, 2007
your hinges likely need new pins and bushings. it is a cheap and farely easy job to do, it will likely fix all of the sag in your doors. doors are no easy thing to come by for a cutlass/regal that are rust free!

lovemyolds84

Not-quite-so-new-guy
Feb 6, 2008
like im very very new to this but its somethin i really want to do. i jus want all the little comforts you know? so if i get new pins and bushings my doors could be tighter sounding?

beeterolds

Master Mechanic
Dec 15, 2007
Cleveland ohio 44131
im also putting my money on the hinges....Cutlass Doors are heavy!!! im surprised mine arent shot yet !

jerrycad472

Master Mechanic
Nov 11, 2006
Detroit, MI
Sounds like you are talking about the clunks and rattles coming from inside the door. I would take the door panel off and feel around to see if anything is loose or worn. If your window is not going all the way up, maybe something in the mechanism is loose.

Generally these older car doors don't shut with the solid rattle free thud that you get in newer vehicles. Some of it is because they just weren't built as well and partially they have less sound deadening material.

The g-bodys came with some foam sound deadener between the door panel and the door. Check to make sure that yours is still there, some previous owner may have removed it.