86 Cutlass Tailpipe????

Status
Not open for further replies.

Todd360

n00b
Jun 4, 2008
Southern Indiana
Hi All,
Newbie here...great forum. First off ( I hate to admit this here ) I'm a Mopar guy and G bodies are new to me. I purchased my Dad's one owner 86 Cutlass Supreme Brougham 2 door, 307, TH200, 128,000 miles. Dad bought it new and it is still really nice. My son and I are replacing the exhaust and wanted to know if the tailpipes from an mid 80's Monte Carlo Super Sport would fit the Cutlass properly and look decent. All of the old exhaust is rotten and has to be replaced from the catalytic convertor back. Any suggestions, experience and knowledge greatly appreciated!
Thanks
Todd

85_SS

G-Body Guru
Nov 6, 2005
Ontario, Canada
Yes, they will fit fine as the chassis is identical. There are special factory bracket/hangers that mount to the rear bumper/frame area, but something can be fabbed here as well if they aren't available. I've seen several Cutlass' done this way, and I like the look. My parent's 87 has stainless exhaust and we had the tails done that way:

291978_374_full.jpg

85_SS

G-Body Guru
Nov 6, 2005
Ontario, Canada
Thanks! Just make sure that your car already has a flanged mid-Ypipe like the Monte SS did. I can't recall what the 307 Cutlass' had for a cat, but I know some cars only had a flange on one side of the cat and the other side was clamped.

Vern

Master Mechanic
Jul 23, 2007
Dayton, OH
Its a personal preference thing, you can also find them that exit behind the rear tires just like the Olds 442. Lots of people like them exiting under the bumper though you also see them a lot on old pick ups and Ford did it with the Mustang for a several years.

Your parents car looks very nice. But it does make you want to ask if its a Chevy Cutlass Supreme or an Olds Monte Carlo. No insults intended as it IS a very sharp car.

85_SS

G-Body Guru
Nov 6, 2005
Ontario, Canada
Vern said: