Bleeding Brakes Tips

Status
Not open for further replies.

sldwys

Greasemonkey
Nov 21, 2020
Im about to replace the front calipers on my 85 Olds 442. Also, will be replacing the front brake lines.

I’m trying to save any headaches. What’s best method to bleed brakes afterwards? It will only be me. Should I buy speed bleeders? I’ve never used them before btw. Or should I get the wife out to try and pump brakes.?

565bbchevy

Geezer
Aug 8, 2011
Michigan
I still do it by pumping the brakes a few times and holding the pedal down to the floor for last time like you would with 2 people but I use a ratcheting "Club" to lock the pedal down on the last pump by wedging it between the seat and the brake pedal and then turn the key to release after bleeding one corner and move on to the next.
I have been doing it this way for many years and it has always worked the best over other 1 person methods I have tried.
1618140132350.png

• Haha
Reactions: 3 users

64nailhead

Goat Herder
Dec 1, 2014
Upstate NY
Gravity, one line at a time starting with the line furthest from the master cylinder. Assuming you are changing the lines from the proportioning valve to wheel ends and the current system is bled and functioning, take the lines for the front brakes off the proportioning valve and plug both ports. The goal is to keep the master cylinder line, and proportioning valve from getting an air in them. Replace the passenger side lines and caliper. Now gravity bleed the right front with the master cylinder cover removed - don't let the master cylinder run out of fluid. Then do the same for the driver side.