Efficient Power

Status
Not open for further replies.

86RegalLimited

Not-quite-so-new-guy
Apr 5, 2007
Northampton, MA
What are the most efficient modifications to get more power out of my Regal. I am a 17 year old student so cost is an issue but I am not afraid to dish out some cash if it's worth it. I am looking for modifications that get the most bang for the buck.
Thank you

illregal82

Master Mechanic
Jul 4, 2006
MINNEAPOLIS
ive heard vortech heads are the way to go for cheap horse power or maybe try to find a motor out of a 91-99 chevy vortech motor out of a chevy truck , tahoe , suburban you get the idea you can use the serpitine setup others may be able to tell you more im not a expert or anything

86RegalLimited

Not-quite-so-new-guy
Apr 5, 2007
Northampton, MA
illregal82 said:
ive heard vortech heads are the way to go for cheap horse power or maybe try to find a motor out of a 91-99 chevy vortech motor out of a chevy truck , tahoe , suburban you get the idea you can use the serpitine setup others may be able to tell you more im not a expert or anything

Aren't those engines fuel injected? I rather stick with a carbureted engine because I want to keep my car as easy for me to maintain and fix as possible.

82355supreme

Greasemonkey
May 16, 2006
Wisconsin
Vortec heads are just a more efficient flowing, smaller chamber GM head. They have larger, smoother intake runners, unshrouded valves, fast burn combustion chambers, & straighter shot exhaust ports.

NOW, the down sides. They may flow well at low lift numbers, but run out of airflow at anyting over .470 lift & 4,500-5,000 RPMS Next the valve springs are no rated for any lift over .470 Reason being that they are out of flow by then anyhow. Some places & people add springs good to .510 lift, but the point is fairly moot, 'cause of reasons already stated. Next they require a "vortec intake" & valve covers which are considerably more expensive.