Installing after market Tachometer questions

Cuse99

Master Mechanic
Dec 21, 2020
1984 Chevy El Camino, standard model. Small block V8, no computer (its been modified)

Hello Forum members. I bought an Autometer mini tach for my car and I could use some help to install it. I worked on cars in my youth but not in a while. If I have good instructions I can get this done, but I'm not a mechanic so please be kind. I can mount the unit and run wires and I can splice wires, no worries. I'm having trouble identifing which wires to splice to. 4 wires model.
1. Ground - no problem
2.Connect to HEI distributor - no problem

3. Hot wire, on with ignition only - could use some help
4. On with dash lighting - could use some help.

Any advice would be greatly appreciated. Thanks in advance.

SS_Malibu

Royal Smart Person
Supporting Member
Sep 27, 2021
Mesa, AZ
The ground goes to a good ground source.
The green wire (I think it is) goes to the tach connection on the HEI distributor.
The red wire (I think it is) goes to a hot fuse when the key is on in the fuse block under the dash by the brake pedal. Use a test light to see what fuse is hot when key is on and off when key is off. You should be able to put a female end on the wire and just plug it in. There will be a spot for this to plug in.
The white wire goes to the lights. You will need to pull the light switch and find the wires that operates the dimmer on the lights. Use a test light to see which wire dims. You can put a male connector on that wire and slip it in next to the dimmer wire.

This is what I did and it works great.
Hope this helps.

• Agree
Reactions: 4 users

melloelky

Comic Book Super Hero
Oct 22, 2017
mass