Need help prep for paint

Status
Not open for further replies.

LGhost

Not-quite-so-new-guy
Apr 18, 2010
I need to get my car sanded down and primered for now, I've never done it before but would like to try. Not so close up photos are in the bucket. I have an air compressor with specs as follows: 5.2 HP, 25 gallon, 4.9scfm@40psi, 3.5scfm@90psi, 150 max psi. I just got back from the paint store and bought a Durablock DA Sander and 6 6'' 220 grit sandpaper. They showed me a two different types of primer priced at about $70 and the other $130, I was also told I would need primer sealer which is basically the same price. Is there an alternative cheaper route because I want to get it done but I don't have that kind of money right now. I asked him about the rattle cans self etched(?) which were priced at $12 a can and he said I would probably need a whole case and I'm sure sealer as well. Also, If someone could walk me through the process, I would be appreciative. I did read the whole Body & Paint sticky thread but would like information regarding my car specifically. I don't think I would be getting it painted right after primer due to money and it is in a garage right now but I would like to keep it outside after it has primer. Also I have someone who will take care of the bondo part. Finally, I won't consider this the last paint job for years to come, I just want to get it to look a little more decent before I drive it.

http://s855.photobucket.com/albums/ab114/ExTerMaSo/Regal/

I will gladly get some close up pics if need.

Side question: What is the difference between black primer and flat black paint? Would flat black count as primer?

3XBrownCutty

Royal Smart Person
Mar 20, 2008
NW PA