Need LS Swap Info

Status
Not open for further replies.

Sleeper Wagons

Not-quite-so-new-guy
Jun 10, 2014
Hello everyone,

I'm new to G Body Forum and High performance LS engines; however, I have been hot rodding small block (SBC) and big block chevy's (BBC) for years. I was amazed how these engines (LS) made so much power, got good gas mileage and ran 10 and 11s on the 1320. When I returned from the 2012 Holley LS Fest, I started selling my SBC and BBC stuff. "If you can't beat them all around, join (swap)them"! :roll: I have a 02 Suburban with a 5.3 and it is great!

I have this thing for wagons and El Camino's. I have two 83 Malibu Wagons. One is pure stock with a V-6 and is my driver. The other one is my sleeper with a BBC. I can not part with either wagon, so I'm going to swap in a 09 G8 LS2 & 6 speed auto trans in the V-6 wagon. I have the engine harness and controller; however, I need the trans controller and the gas pedal. The salvage yard I got it all from no longer have the car; however, they have a V-6 G8. I would think that I can not use the needed parts from the V-6 G8. :blam: Any ideas?

I would love to hear of similar swaps and welcome any advise to make the swap go as smooth as possible while keeping the cost down. I was looking at the BRP swap kit and shorty headers (only if the stock G8 exhaust manifolds don't work). I was also looking at what Holley has to offer. I would love to drive the car to the 2014 LS Fest in September. :eek:

Thanks to all of you and I'm glad to be apart of the G Body family. :D

Sleeper Wagons
Accokeek, MD

axld86

Greasemonkey
Nov 7, 2013
between disney and bush garden,FL