olds v8 exhaust manifold crack

Status
Not open for further replies.

85 B Regal

Not-quite-so-new-guy
Oct 3, 2010
Well long story short, the machine shop ruined my original rh exhaust manifold by milling the middle opening too much so after a year of living with that nasty sound I decided to replace it. I found a decent looking one off a 76 350, got it off, had the bolts removed, and took it home to clean it up a bit. That's when I found this :
http://s1061.photobucket.com/albums/t464/youngblood19891/1984 Cutlass/

Its kinda hard to see the crack, but its on the front bolt ear,and goes through to the port side, about 3/4 of the ear. Would it be feasible to have repaired or use as is, or should i keep looking for a manifold? Im a decent welder but im not guna attempt to weld cast iron.

Oct 14, 2008
Melville,Saskatchewan
If someone is good with a mig, should be an easy repair. Those manifolds suck, so spending any decent amount isn't worth it.

85 B Regal

Not-quite-so-new-guy
Oct 3, 2010
For free? I live in battle creek, michigan. Idk how far away from you that is.

85 B Regal

Not-quite-so-new-guy
Oct 3, 2010
Cast iron welding is usually done with an oxy-acetylene torch, and takes a lot of skill not to make it worse. I've only seen a few cases of mig welding cast iron, and the surface prep was nearly impossible for this application.

1bad79

Royal Smart Person
Dec 3, 2011
Allendale mi
i think i have one i will look in my scrap barrel im 2 hrs from you and i got a cousin that lives in b.c so i could get it to you if i can find it!

85 B Regal

Not-quite-so-new-guy
Oct 3, 2010
Ok, let me know, pics wud be great too :)

Status
Not open for further replies.