Rough running Olds 350

Status
Not open for further replies.

bluesman79

Not-quite-so-new-guy
Apr 29, 2012
Milwaukee, WI
Hey fellas AND ladies, I have an '81 Cutlass with an '72 Olds 350 that is running weird now. About 3 weeks ago I replaced the spark plugs because it was running rough all of a sudden. It ran fine for a few weeks. A couple days ago I adjusted the carb (i'm a noob) and now it's beginning to run like crap. Before all of this, my dad said I needed to get the timing adjusted because it was backfiring through the carb, haven't done that yet. But here's the thing, it runs perfect when it's just warming up, but after 15-20mins of driving it takes a nose dive and starts running like pure crap, like it's got bad spark plugs (it sputters and runs rough). I've searched the boards and read that it could be the ignition module and i'll probably get that checked along with the ignition wires. However, it was running rough when it was in the 90s (but now it's dropped down to the low 80s and it still runs rough after a few miles of driving. The temperature gauge is steady at 190 degrees, but jumps up if it sits in stop and go traffic for too long. I hope i'm not leaving anything out to get a better understanding of the problem, but what do you guys think? I drive my car EVERYDAY to work, it's my only car. HELP, lol 🙁

mycutlass3-1-1.jpg

Sounds like a carb issue. And, I would find out why its running hot. Olds motors like to run a bit warmer than most, but over 220 is too much. Back firing through the carb usually is a carb or timing issue. Have the carb rebuilt first, then set the timing at idle w/the engine warm and the vacuum advance hose plugged. Good Luck!

bill said: