Suspension Upgrade Ideas

Status
Not open for further replies.

trindor

n00b
Aug 12, 2006
Looking for suspension upgrades. Or more importantly recommendations. I'd rather not brake the bank if I don't have to. I have a series of junk yards around me and don't mind spending Sunday afternoon digging if I know what to look for.

I have a 78 Cutlass and the front end in it's entirety is going to be replaced. So I figured if I have to do this much, I may as well improve if possible. I don't care about originality so much as I care about dependability and functionality. Any ideas are welcome as I am just learning. Or directions to go for research are fine too. Unfortunately I can't go hang at machine or sport shops due to my schedule, but @ 3AM I am more than happy to do the extra work necessary in learning.

clean8485

Comic Book Super Hero
Dec 18, 2005
Ontario, Canada
If you're going to upgrade, and you want to stay on a budget, then I would suggest that you check your local wrecking yards for a wrecked mid '80s Monte SS, Olds 442 or Hurst car, or Buick GN. I would try to obtain the steering box, front & rear sway bars, the 2 front frame reinforcement bars, and the front spindles, wheel bearings and brake rotors. Your '78 Cutlass has smaller front wheel bearings & spindles than later A/G body cars, so getting the later spindles & bearings is a good idea. From there, you can make other changes & upgrades, but IMHO, that's a good place for you to start. If there are any worn suspension or steering parts, such as ball joints, tie rod ends, idler arm, etc, they should be replaced during your upgrades. Hope this helps.

clean8485

Comic Book Super Hero
Dec 18, 2005
Ontario, Canada