T-Top Center Pillar

Status
Not open for further replies.

realjwann

Not-quite-so-new-guy
Nov 15, 2007
Newbie here, I have an 83 cutty with the tops, the problem is the center pillar is rusted to hell and weather stripping is gone....

now my question, is the center pillar removable, can i actually unbolt it from the car and put in another center pillar? Also, any idea where one could find a center pillar for the g-bodies, i just lost one on ebay.

Sep 1, 2006
Tampa Bay Area
If it is anything like a 3rd gen Camaro, then yes it is removable-depending on which piece you are refering to. The top piece holds the T tops and the weatherstripping and these can easily be removed. The actual roof structure is not easily removed without the use of a Sawzall or plasma cutter! As for where to find one, I saw a Regal in the Junkyard the other day which was a T top car. It was the 81-88 style. Be careful though, as there are 2 T top setups for G bodies-one was factory and one was a dealer installed or aftermarket kit. I believe the kit was made by ASC. You need to know which one you have and I don't know how to tell them apart as I have never messed with them.

realjwann

Not-quite-so-new-guy
Nov 15, 2007
Has to have been stock GM T-Top Setup, if you could please look into that t-top pillar, price shipping to 78537 i would greatly appreciate it. THanx for the reply

Sep 1, 2006
Tampa Bay Area
If it were actually there, I would want $50-100 for it were I to pull it depending on what they wanted and how much of a hassle it is to get it out, but I will not likely be back there for a few weeks as I am trying to finish paint and body on my Cutlass and it takes all of my time. Try your local U pull it yards-every major metropolitan area has one. I go 1-2 times a week when I am gathering parts for a project because of the rapid turnover.

arocars

Not-quite-so-new-guy
Jun 1, 2007
Massachusetts
t-tops

Hi there,