What to look for in a hurst olds with a 350

Status
Not open for further replies.

Genxlarry

n00b
Jan 8, 2017
Newbie here. The car I was always interested in seems to have come up not too far away. I always liked the G-bodies when I was a teen. My family had an 81 Grand Prix. Fun for its day. The Hurst Olds caught my eye in 1984 when the ad appeared in the car mags. It seems that an 83 has come up with a '69 350 rocket engine swapped into it. It has some Edelbrock aftermarket parts by the look of it...Intake anyways. Provided the engine is a mild performance mod, how streetable is this combination? No racing intentions. Just drama free fun. What should I look carefully at when I go see it. Thanks.

L67ss

Royal Smart Person
Dec 8, 2016
Just look to see how it runs. And assuming a mild can at most it should be fine as a dd

MrSony

Geezer
Nov 15, 2014
Des Moines, Iowa
Check the wiring. Make sure there are no weird splices or cuts anywhere. Make sure the gauges are working correctly. It had a 307 in it, so a 307 to a 350 olds is as easy and trouble free as a 305 to a sbc 350. In and out deal, so it should be relatively clean under the hood. Without much to go on, it's tough to tell how streetable it will be. Try and test drive it.

JAMCAR223

Royal Smart Person
Jun 6, 2014
Houston, TX.
Rust...under the carpet ( check for soft floors underneath the car - take a phillips screwdriver and remove the aluminum door sill plate - then peel the carpet back ) on the bottom of the doors, inside the trunk, where the radiator support mounts to the frame.

Wiring...check for shady wiring after an engine swap has been performed. Check all the electrical functions ( lights, horn, radio, a/c, heat, defrost, dome light, radio, PW, PL ) Sometimes people get caught up/sidetracked and forget the basics.

Pull the dipstick, and check the condition of the oil. Does the oil filter look newer? ( as in changed in the last 3 months / 3000 miles )