Which is better

Status
Not open for further replies.

WarWagon

Not-quite-so-new-guy
Dec 14, 2010
im building a 496 stroker and plan on running a 150 shot of nitrous. so my questions are #1 which are better rectangle or oval port heads, and #2 if anyone has any suggestions on any certain type of heads would run the best....im trying for 10.5 to 1 compression. thanks

454muscle

Royal Smart Person
Jan 31, 2010
Ontario, Canada eh!
Rectangle ports will breathe a LOT better for your stroker on juice.
Aluminum heads will disperse heat better than cast iron so they're a better choice if you're running 10.5:1 compression.
If you're running a high lift cam, make it a roller.
Since you're running Nitrous your pistons, rings and other rotating assembly needs to be stronger, I'm not an expert so hopefully some others will chime in with that info!
Good luck on the build bro!
:friday:

WarWagon

Not-quite-so-new-guy
Dec 14, 2010
thanks man that helps alot....being here in iraq makes it hard to get info....anyone else got any tips for this build like past expiriences

dogsht

Royal Smart Person
Nov 11, 2008
Dayton, OH
Sounds like good advice/info to me. If you don't already have heads and you have to buy some unless you find some used for dirt even then it may be questionable if they need valves or other work. Generally spend your money on aftermarket heads.

WarWagon

Not-quite-so-new-guy
Dec 14, 2010
thanks for the info guys...im a little disappointed though i thought more people would be willing to give me thier input on this build???

Randy_W

G-Body Guru
Oct 16, 2005
Eastern Shore