170cc runners
1.94 valve int
1.50 exh

Comp cams XE268H-10 cam and lfter set

summit stamped steel roller rockers

Edelbrock performer rpm intake

Holley 770cfm street avenger carb, dual feed,electric choke

all this for about 1,485 plus shipping
does anyone have any experience with these parts? Good/Bad? does this sound like a good package or is there somthing better than this?

hoping to maybe break the 400hp mark :twisted:

later

Sep 1, 2006
Tampa Bay Area
I would consider the Patriot Performance heads instead of the Vortecs. The reason is, they can take more lift stock than the Vortecs and have similar flow and power numbers. To use that cam with the Vortec heads, you will have to have them modified for different springs or run beehive springs, plus you may need to cut down the valve guide bosses. The price is similar and the Patriots are aluminum. I have no actual experience with either head, but to me it makes sense on a mild street engine. I would also consider going with the Comp Magnum rockers instead. Nice quality piece and more accurate ratios as they are cast and not stamped. I have a set and am very happy with them. I had a cheap set of stamped roller tip Proform rockers previously, and broke several of them. To save money, I would skip the Holley and use a properly set-up Quadrajet. Better fuel economy and throttle response with lower cost. If you want one pre-built, consider getting one from Jet. It is competitively priced with the Holley, and flows between 750 and 800 cfm. The Quadrajet also gives better hood clearance. The RPM is a great intake and available as either a square flange or spread bore intake. I have never heard of anyone who does not like theirs. Also, if you use the Vortec heads you will need GM guided tip rockers, so be sure you get the right style. They also require center-bolt valve covers which are easily found in the junk yard. Another thing is they have a unique intake manifold bolt pattern that differs from the standard SBC pa