86 El Camino 305 to 350

Status
Not open for further replies.

LukeZ

G-Body Guru
Apr 24, 2015
Delaware
I have an 86 SS El Camino, 100% stock as far as engine and drivetrain goes. It has a 305, a 200R4, and 2.56:1 gears. I Know that upgrading to a 350 is a pretty common swap, but I'd like some help with it. I have no experience, and have no idea where to start. I am also on a budget, and by that, I mean no more than a couple thousand dollars tops. I'm not looking for 300hp. 200 is fine, because right now, I probably have close to 130 at the wheels. I want to slowly update my whole car, starting with the engine, and eventually doing everything else in the engine bay like radiator and other things, then transmission, etc. is there anyone who can just tell me EXACTLY what I need to do, or refer me to a website that has SPECIFIC instructions for this exact swap? Fyi, I plan to keep my engine carburated, and I'm not looking for an LS1 upgrade. Any help is appreciated, thanks

79 USA 1

Royal Smart Person
Sep 2, 2011
Cheektowaga, New York
Your set up sounds like what I started with. 1986 El Camino, LG4 305, 200r4 Transmission, 2.56 posi rear.
I started with a 1974 vintage 350 block bored .030, stock crank & 5.7 rods, Keith Black Hypereutectic flat top pistons, good set of moly rings, Crane Compucam which was close to the "Chevy 151" 350hp 327ci.cam. I ran 76cc smog heads that came with the engine. Just had a good 3 angle valve job with some minor port work to clean up casting flash in the runners on both the intake and exhaust ports, screw in studs and guide plates added to run Harland Sharp roller rockers. Used the stock intake again with some casting flash clean up in the runners, Q jet computer control carb worked fine after a rebuild and some changes to the secondary metering rods and hanger. (This was pure trial and error to find hangers and secondary rods this combo liked).