Body Guys - Clearcoat recommendations

Status
Not open for further replies.

ostrich

Master Mechanic
Aug 27, 2012
Ontario, Canada
rktpwrd:I'm not a paint pro, I've painted 3 vehicles with good success all done with the same base paint type (Automotive Art) and topped with PPG 530. I did my 2004 F150 1st, then the Monte, then the 2015. I did learn a little more pressure and the orange peel is very minimal. I get comments on the 2015 about the paint. The trucks were 2 clear and the Monte 3. The full pic of the Monte is just after paint, it did get wet sanded & buffed (well, almost done). The pic of the Camaro was taken into the door of the Monte. (watched that same video you posted)
20170605_075149.jpg 20180813_174744.jpg 20191223_074419.jpg 20200317_132804.jpg

Reactions: 2 users

Rktpwrd

Builder of Cool Shjt
Supporting Member
Feb 2, 2015
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
i wish i could report on the higher side of things but he did say two's the norm and three's more than acceptable and i agree with that number.you're meeting the minimum mill thickness-even post sand/buff so no worries there..everyone's got a different hand with the cutting/polishing (i hate flow coating/and myself for doing it yet i still do it) but again they do call for "wet coats" ;)
i don't know what the booth is that you've got lined up but if it's temp controlled you can choose your reducer and put that portion out of your mind at least.

rktpwrd:I'm not a paint pro, I've painted 3 vehicles with good success all done with the same base paint type (Automotive Art) and topped with PPG 530. I did my 2004 F150 1st, then the Monte, then the 2015. I did learn a little more pressure and the orange peel is very minimal. I get comments on the 2015 about the paint. The trucks were 2 clear and the Monte 3. The full pic of the Monte is just after paint, it did get wet sanded & buffed (well, almost done). The pic of the Camaro was taken into the door of the Monte. (watched that same video you posted)