Brougham vs. Salon vs. Calais

Status
Not open for further replies.

CaliCuttie

Apprentice
Jun 10, 2009
San Francisco, CA
Hi, I'm pretty new to the world of Cutties. Trying to research on what I would love to be my first car, a Cutlass Supreme from 81-87. Throughout my search I have come across three different types of Supreme from that era, Brougham, Salon, and Calais. As far as I know its basically the same, but I'm sure I'm wrong. Can somebody break down the three for me, what makes them different? Thanks a bunch!!!!!!

- A Cutlass noob
😀

The cutlass salon started as a trim level in the 70's for the colonnade and later became the fugly notchback no one liked:
1978cutlasssalonfastbk0807.jpg

It was available in 2 door or :puke: four door, and also 442 form

The brougham is the top trim level of the supreme that you know. But by the mid/late eighties there wasn't really a defining line between them. They might have different wheels, seats, radio, and a few extra goodies.

The cutlass calais was also a trim level above the supreme, lower than the brougham.

In 1985 olds removed the 'cutlass calais' trim level and gave the calais name to it's new small car, in 1988 it was renamed 'Cutlass Calais'.
85olds.jpg

It was first available in 2 door, then 4 door form. A high output quad four was offered, and olds' FE3 suspension

custom442 said:
The cutlass salon started as a trim level in the 70's for the colonnade and later became the fugly notchback no one liked:
1978cutlasssalonfastbk0807.jpg

It was available in 2 door or :puke: four door, and also 442 form

The brougham is the top trim level of the supreme that you know. But by the mid/late eighties there wasn't really a defining line between them. They might have different wheels, seats, radio, and a few extra goodies.

The cutlass calais was also a trim level above the supreme, lower than the brougham.