first engine swap 305 chevy to 350 olds

Status
Not open for further replies.

worldwide

Not-quite-so-new-guy
Jun 23, 2014
Hi. I've never done a swap before, so this will be a slow project. I just have a couple questions to get me going.

my car is an 83 cutlass supreme built for the canadian market with a chevy 305 from the factory. It is currently stock. I just picked up an olds 350 motor from a 72 cutlass with a t350 olds transmission. it has the torque converter, exhaust manifolds, mounts, and a water pump attached to it, but not much else. my questions for now are:

will the manifolds bolt up to my existing Y-pipe? if not, am I better off trying to add a set of headers and run a dual custom exhaust, or will that require even more modifications?

can I use the mechanical fan from my 305?
can I use my existing alternator?
will my driveshaft be the proper length?

is there anything else major that I will run into problems with? I am aware that I will have to re-route some of the fuel lines, electrical, and vacuum hoses, but I won't really know until I get a chance to start messing with it. I want to keep my car driveable for as long as possible while I source all my parts, and then do the swap over a weekend or two.

thanks for any help or advice.
-Malcolm

Oct 14, 2008
Melville,Saskatchewan
The down pipes are different, get Hedman or Sanderson headers and custom dual exhaust. The alternator and drive shaft should work. The fan will be drilled for a different pattern.

worldwide

Not-quite-so-new-guy
Jun 23, 2014
sounds like I will be going with headers and a dual exhaust from day one then.

I will likely also install a flexilite e-fan setup with the adjustable controller. just wish I had a temperature guage so I could monitor it.

am I going to run into any computer/electrical issues going from an 83 to a 72 motor? how much of my 83 is computer controlled?

Oct 14, 2008
Melville,Saskatchewan