How to make #8 heads work. Waist of time?

Status
Not open for further replies.

ForMySon

Not-quite-so-new-guy
May 5, 2011
Tyler, TX
I'm still in the planning stages for my 82 Cutlass. Getting ready to pull the motor 395558 2, not sure of year, but it does have #8 heads 411 929 or 829(can't remember numbers off the top of my head).

Can these heads be worked to flow well for a 350hp build or will I be waisting my time and money?

What will need to be done to make them work?
and
about how much $$$$ if I paid someone?
or/vs.
doing the work myself (i'm new to working on engines but i may attempt the work myself)
or/vs
buying other junkyard heads?

I just need all the various options so I can decide how much I want to spend. I'm thinking about doing the work myself and buying what ever tools I can. This will give me some experience something to do during the day. I know they'll need to be ported and (milled down?) to decrease cc and may need larger valves.

mheath717

Master Mechanic
Nov 13, 2008
Florida
Well I'm glad it didn't just happen to me. I also bought a '68 - '70 motor that I thought was going to be a great deal. I had the same exact block numbers as the one you got. But somehow I got number eight heads on mine. :x I pulled the numbers on the heads and I found they were from like a '76 low compression motor.

Curious to see if you find out anything good you can do with them.

ForMySon

Not-quite-so-new-guy
May 5, 2011
Tyler, TX
Kennybill said:
Don't waste your $$$ and time on #8 heads. Find a set of 5/6/7 heads. Where r u located?
Tyler, Texas; East of Dallas by 2 hours. How much can I expect to pay? Are they easily found in a junkyard/possible prices to pull myself?

84Hurst/Olds said:
Curious to see if you find out anything good you can do with them.