New Olds guy

Status
Not open for further replies.

FE3X CLONE

Comic Book Super Hero
Dec 2, 2009
Ohio
Hello everyone. Been a long time member of http://www.realoldspower.com, http://www.oldspower.com and http://www.pro-touring.com but just happened upon this site through another forum. Figured I'd sign up!

My car is an '87 Olds Cutlass Supreme that I bought as my first car when I turned 16. Drove it for years as a daily driver to high school and college. It started off with 69,000 original miles and the base 307 Y roller engine, TH-2004R and 2.56 rear. But it did have the F-41 suspension package and was always a decent handling car for what it was.
This is essentially how it looked back then (minus the cowl hood which was added years later)

andrewscutlass2.jpg

Over the years I upgraded a few things starting with the transmission when it blew up at 104,000 miles. Then had the stock 7.5" rear rebuilt with an Auburn limited slip and Richmond 3.73 gears. When I was a sophomore in college and built a pretty basic 455 and dropped it in and its been down hill ever since. lol

About seven years go I decided to take it to a friend of mine to have a few rust issues fixed and repainted. The more we got into it, the more rust we found and then it just became one big "might-as-well" project. We found the rear inner wheel well housings were rusted and pulling away from the trunk floor. So since those needed cut out, might as well notch the frame. Also found that the frame had rusted through around a few of the body mounts so I decided to replace those. Then we figured it wasn't that far from just pulling the entire body from the frame. I believe that was the point of no return.