rear disk brakes conversion

Status
Not open for further replies.
hi all i just got a rear end outa my friends 87 trans am(not stock t/a) its a gm 10bolt rear with 3.73.1 gears and disk breaks the thing is im thinking of swapping my whole rear out of my cutlass that has them 2.42. or some crap gears lol to this.
how would i do this and make the rear disk break conversion over from drums to disks? any help is greatly appreciated. and if anyone can tell me what gears came in a stock 87 trans am or cutlass? im new to this car restore so... its a new and challenging thing for me.. i told my parents that before i turn 22 i wana restore a car thats older than i am 😀

The trans am rear won't work in a G-body. For one, there's no provision for upper control arms since the F-body uses a 3-link rear suspension instead of the G-body converging 4-link.
It's also wider so your wheels would stick out further.

My '87 with 307/TH-2004R had 2.56 rear gears but there were other ratio's available.

FE3X CLONE said:
The trans am rear won't work in a G-body. For one, there's no provision for upper control arms since the F-body uses a 3-link rear suspension instead of the G-body converging 4-link.
It's also wider so your wheels would stick out further.

My '87 with 307/TH-2004R had 2.56 rear gears but there were other ratio's available.

well i kinda see what u mean, but its not a stock rear or gears from the trans am, its a posi rear, he got it out of a another car, i dont no what tho but when i looked at mine and his, it looks like itll line up and bolt in perfectly, all the hardware is the sam ebut like u said its wider and i wouldnt mind havin tires show some, or ill just get smaller tires 🙂