Satin clearcoat questions

Status
Not open for further replies.

-83MONTESS-

Comic Book Super Hero
Nov 4, 2010
Bellevue, Ohio
I recently painted my monte satin black, or "hotrod" black. Does anybody know of a good clearcoat I can use to help with durability but not change the finish of the paint? I dont want a gloss or flat finish I wanna keep the satin finish (which is why I bought the paint). Im a noob when it comes to paint so this may be a noob question but I was wondering because the car will be under a car cover during the winter months and I dont wanna ruin the fresh paint. Any help/advice is greatly appreciated.

was the paint you used a base coat to use clear over? It's the clear that give the car the shine so if you want a satin finish then you need a satin clear. I used Deltron clear and I has to mix in flattening agent to get the matt I was looking for. The clear cost me $180 for the gallon and I needed 4 quarts of flattening agent at $70 per quart.

What do ya think of this?
http://www.eastwood.com/ew-rat-rod-sati ... t-kit.html
It says it needs a 4:1 mix with their activator but thats not an issue. Also do you know what 10-15% gloss level means? I know its obviously showing how glossy vs flat the finish is but would the 10-15 still be around a satin finish?

the 10 -15 is more like an eggshell but it's close to satin. Mine is in-between flat and eggshell, probably 4-8. We can't get any urethane or acrylic paints here in Canada any longer so that's why we pay large for paint products

Gloss Level 1 – Flat, <3@60 degrees
Gloss Level 2 – Low Sheen, 5-10@60 degrees
Gloss Level 3 – Eggshell, 10-15@60 degrees
Gloss Level 4 – Satin, 25-35@60 degrees
Gloss Level 5 – Semi-Gloss, 50-55@60 degrees
Gloss Level 6 – Gloss, 70-80@60 degrees
Gloss Level 7 – Gloss, 85+@60 degrees